The Little Book of Cottagecore: Traditional Skills for a Simpler Life by Emily Kent

I have recently started purchasing materials for the Public Library I work at, so when Cottagecore came across my list I wanted to look into it further. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that it was available for an Audible credit, well I love Hygge, Medieval History, Conservation, and Crafting so this book on how to craft a simpler life will be a great addition and culmination of all of my interests. I listened to the audiobook version and read the accompanying PDF so my perceptions might change slightly if I had read the physical version. It does do this, sort of. If you are using this with a background knowledge of some of these subjects, reading the Caveats at the beginning that this is not medical advice, and being willing to take a much deeper dive on these subjects before trying the projects outlined then this is a good book for ideas. If you are going into this as a completely new concept, skipping the prelude before the introduction (as I would have if I were reading a physical copy), and without a gardening/crafting/herbalism background knowledge then this book could very easily end up in a poorly made quilt, some medical problems from improperly made/consumed tinctures, and I shudder to think about Apiary (beekeeping, which the author does encourage you to go into a deeper dive on this topic before starting), windowsill gardening, etc. attempted using these scant instructions. In the quilting the author mentions that “It is advised that you do not iron your quilt…” Then proceeds to advise for a pretty wall hanging go ahead and iron it. In this book about traditional skills the author mentions using materials like synthetic cloth for a like-new look that will last longer rather than worrying about the environment (or taking into account the quilts that we have that are over 100 years old).

I completely understand where this author is coming from. It takes a considerable amount of time and expense to do things the natural way, to learn the proper methods for hand piecing, or even machine piecing a quilt sourcing organic materials so that you do not get the puckers that the author is advising you iron out. Kent does advise that you consult a doctor in the text before the introduction, I believe that this should have been re-iterated in the chapter rather than having the advice as a legal disclaimer in the beginning. I am sorry to say that I can easily see individuals reading this short book, stopping medication to use tinctures, and skipping speaking with their doctor. This book attempts to help the reader ‘short-cut’ a more natural and simpler lifestyle. However the reader is losing out on many of the benefits of this type of lifestyle by taking those shortcuts. If you are thinking about taking up a Cottage Core Lifestyle, or even just want more information about it, I suggest you look up several of the key components that interest you about that lifestyle and research each one individually, take a deep dive, work on learning one skill, then move on to another aspect or skill. If you are willing to take the advice in here with a grain of salt and just want to learn some of the basics without consulting pinterest, then take a look at this book. I’m not buying it for the library, however. I hate writing negative reviews, however I just cannot endorse this book. If there was a book that went into the tenants, reasons for, thoughts behind, benefits of, etc. cottage core perhaps with some lovely anecdotes, I would buy that in a heartbeat.

Leave a comment