Hard Magic by Laura Anne Gilman

This is the first paranormal romance/fantasy that I have read with a female bi-sexual character as the protagonist. That being said as a straight (but not narrow) cis-gendered woman I do not know if this is an accurate portrayal of a bisexual cis-woman. I also understand that every individual is different. On a Kinsey scale I would say that Bonnie, the protagonist, leans more toward a 3-4 than 5. She seems to seek male sexual companionship as a default with the option for female if circumstances, or her need for stable companionship, allow.

Once you manage to get past Bonnie’s desire for…companionship, the rest of the book is quite interesting. This is a universe, sort of like the Dresden series…or maybe I’m just making the comparison since I am also reading those, where Magic is common yet not known to the public. There is a council, of sorts, well really two one for the controlled side of things and one for the more chaotic or loner type magic users. In this novel Bonnie is trying to find a job and a mysterious offer comes through. With life-endangering peril, learning new tricks, getting to know co-workers, and keeping her mentor from interfering with her life (too much) you would wonder where Bonnie finds her energy to even try to find a romantic companion. If this complex, yet straight forward, type of romantic paranormal adventure story appeals to you then this might be worth a read.

I am not sorry I read this, however I do not feel invested enough in the characters to pursue this series.

Leave a comment