How I Use Evernote to Keep My Entire Life Organized

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-evernote-keeps-my-entire-life-organized-240088

This is one persons utilization of Evernote to keep their life organized.

  • A master list of everything that they have to do in their life. Work, personal, etc.  They still maintain  a daily list, but this is their overarching document.
  • Create a packing list for trips, if you travel often have a master list like warm places packing, cold places packing, leisure, family, etc.
  • Keep a list of long term goals, even adding photos etc, to make it more visually interesting.
  • Scan important papers, receipts, business cards, etc.
  • Use evernote e-mail address to subscribe to newsletters so they don’t clutter up your inbox
  • Clip web pages to read later
  • Make digital post it notes so that brainstorms are not lost later and work is not interrupted
  • Pick meals from a master list of favorite recipes
  • Keep a running grocery list

*The first few items seem silly, I can use any word/pages document even the notes function of my phone/ipad for making, keeping and maintaining master lists.  Scanning important documents, okay that might be useful.  Clipping web pages to read later, I do that with instapaper but it is a useful function of evernote.  Make digital post it notes, that can be useful if you have evernote integrated into your work computer.  Picking meals from a master list, this is a great tip, I think I’ll make one on pages.  Keep a running grocery list?  Again that’s what I have Notes for on my phone, and why is syncs up to my ipad.  On a more practical note I was just checking why I stopped using evernote and here it is: Sync across 2 devices  If I want to sync my notes on more than 2 devices I have to pay evernote $35 per year.  (the ‘evernote e-mail’ thing also requires the ‘Plus’ subscription.) Admittedly $35 per year is not that much in digital terms, but when you can do barely more than my already included with purchase, or free apps then why should I pay you $35 a year?  Let alone the $70 subscription where you can scan and digitaze the business cards.  No wonder this author uses Evernote for everything you have to justify $70 a year somehow.*  Just my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

