Print or Digital…

http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/digital/content-and-e-books/article/71500-print-digital-and-what-really-matters.html

There are arguements that whether digital or physical reading is on the decline.  One of the first arguments mentions that reading is a more active task than listening to the radio or watching TV.  There is some argument that the publishers are not making digital media easy to access  or more affordable so people are still leaning toward print media.  *I can agree with that to an extent but then I just had to tell a patron that the novella published in their series is only available in digital, he asked when it would be in the library and I had to tell him we would probably never have access to it*.

The author states that one of the most alarming aspects to the trend of fewer people reading is that all other forms of media consumption have had dramatic increases.

In a 2012 survey report titled The Rise of Digital Reading, Pew researchers concluded that “those who have taken the plunge into reading e-books stand out in almost every way” from other kinds of readers.

“Foremost, they are relatively avid readers of books in all formats: 88% of those who read e-books in the past 12 months also read printed books.” the report noted. “Compared with other book readers, they read more books. They read more frequently for a host of reasons: for pleasure, for research, for current events, and for work and school. They are also more likely than others to have bought their most recent book, rather than borrowed it, and they are more likely than others to say they prefer to purchase books in general.”

I find this quote to be one of the most telling.  I know from my personal experiences that I am more likely to buy an e-book simply due to availability, however in order to hook me into spending more of my hard earned money it had better be a darned good book.  There are only a few authors whose books I buy without reservations, and most are mystery authors for my mother.

Readers “want books to be available wherever they are,” Rainie told the Times. “They’ll read an e-book on a crowded bus, curl up with a printed book when they feel like that, and go to bed with a tablet.” That certainly sounds like an opportunity to grow readership, and to reach new readers.

I find this to be the most accurate statement, as well as something that people have a very hard time grasping.  Personally the only reason I read more ebooks and audio books recently is because I can listen to an audio book in the car on the way to work and I can read an e-book anywhere when I get a few free moments.  If I want to get caught up in the life of an alien captive I can pick up “Freedom’s Landing” by Anne McCaffery, if I want to read about Spinning yarn I can pick up “The Complete Practical Spinner’s Guide to Rare Luxury Fibers”, or if I want to read Women’s Day I can pick that up also without lugging around a bunch of books!  It is all on my tablet in addition to my schedule and audio books.

Leave a Reply

