What is Alexa and What is the Amazon Echo and Should You Get One

What Is Alexa? What Is the Amazon Echo, and Should You Get One?

This is an amazing article comprehensively detailing what Amazon’s Echo is good for and in what circumstances it would make sense to get one.  This article actually talked me out of one, it would be neat but I would not be able to use the majority of the functions available.

The Echo is remarkable and can help you integrate your smart home devices into a fairly seamless experience.  Instead of pulling out your phone and turning on the kitchen lights you can just say “Alexa turn on the kitchen lights”.   I do see that this might be very useful for the differently-abled.  Instead of having to worry about the fine motor control needed to flick a switch, or pull out your phone and hit the right app, you can just tell Alexa to do it.  If you have a smart home, or often need things like conversions or tidbits of information on the fly then this can be a very useful device.

I can see times when I want to listen to my audiobooks, or some music while I craft but don’t want to get up for my phone.  There are instances when I would like a richer audio experience than I can get from my iPad or iPhone.  Sometimes I want to just say, “Alexa order cappuccino k-cups.” Then I remember, impulse buying is a great way to go broke; if I really want to listen to something my phone/ipad is right over there; and silence is good for the soul sometimes.

This is a very useful device, and an even more useful article.

Leave a Reply

