A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

I listened to this book. For over 20 hours I listened to this book, only for it to end on a cliff-hanger! The plot was intellectual and interesting, the characters seemed to have depth, and despite the detail that caused the book to be quite long the plot moved along fairly well. The narrator/reader was fantastic, there were different voices for each character adding a depth to the point that you feel as though you are listening in on someone’s conversation.

I really cannot articulate why I did not find this book to be something that I found a passionate interest in. Between the alchemy, history, vampires, witches, and mystery I should have been sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen next. Instead I found the main characters to be very, blah. What it really comes down to for me is that I cannot see myself being friends with these characters. If I like the characters I can get passionately involved in a book, even if I hate them then I want to see what happens next.

Perhaps I will re-listen to this in a few years, maybe I will pick up the sequel, probably not though.

Leave a Reply

